SPOJA honours legends

By Lawrence Trusida, Sports Editor

Three legends in the sports journalism sector have been inducted into the inaugural Sports Journalists Hall of Fame.

Veteran football commentator and television anchor Charles Mabika, all-rounder Steve Vickers and veteran journalist Robson Sharuko were inducted into the Hall of fame at the fourth Sports Journalist Association (SPOJA) awards held in Harare Friday night.

The glamorous banquet and a first of its kind to induct journalists into the Hall of Fame was held at a local hotel in Harare and it attracted the ‘who is who’ of the sports fraternity.

The highlight of the night was the induction into the Hall of Fame of Zimbabwe’s sports journalists that have over 100 years of experience between them in sports casting and reporting.

ZBC TV anchor Charles Mabika, who is well known for being a football encyclopaedia, former ZBC and BBC sports caster Steve Vickers who is now Head of programming at Star FM and H-Metro Editor Robson Sharuko, one of the panellists on the popular ZBC TV football show, Game Plan were inducted into the Hall of fame.

Sharuko, Mabika and Vickers will get engraved suits from 4May and a shopping trip to Sandton South Africa.

Said Vickers, “To the young generation – be inspired, always give it your best shot. Just be worried about doing the job and the doors will open. Once you do your job to the best of your abilities, things will happen.”

Guest of Honour and Deputy Minister of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services, Honourable Kindness Paradza challenged sports journalists to take a leaf from the three legends by upholding high standards.

Classic263 radio presenter Valentine Mabhugu receiving his award

“Sport brings people together and as sports journalists you have a job to make sure that you continue giving people the good news from the sports field that help foster unity in the country. Sport not only brings entertainment, but also brings people together,” he said.

ZBC’s Classic263 radio presenter, Valentine Mabhugu was named the Sports Journalist of the Year in the electronic media category.

The post SPOJA honours legends appeared first on ZBC NEWS.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: