Cricket premier league kicks off Sunday

By Lawrence Trusida, Sports Editor

The second edition of the National Premier League cricket (NPL) is set to get underway this Sunday, with 10 teams at different venues across the country seeking a perfect start to the elite club tournament.

The 2021/22 NPL will see Gladiators, Harare Kings, Takashinga Patriots 1 and Takashinga Patriots 2 representing the Harare Metropolitan province, while Bulawayo Metropolitan has Amakhosi and Bulawayo Athletic Club (BAC) participating.

The other clubs involved in the league this time round are Westside from Manicaland, Great Zimbabwe Patriots from Masvingo and Nortonians from Midlands-Mashonaland West, while an academy side, Lions, comes in as the 10th team.

As action gets underway this Sunday, defending champions Takashinga Patriots 1 will face Nortonians at Sunrise Sports Club in Harare.

Across the capital, Old Hararians Sports Club will host two matches, with BAC taking on Westside and Harare Kings entertaining Lions on the other pitch.

Amakhosi will clash with Takashinga Patriots 2 at Kwekwe Sports Club, while Gladiators and Great Zimbabwe Patriots will complete match day one action at Masvingo Sports Club.

The post Cricket premier league kicks off Sunday appeared first on ZBC NEWS.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: