Broos names Bafana squad for WC qualifiers

KICKOFF – Hugo Broos has named his first Bafana Bafana squad ahead of next month’s highly-anticipated 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

South Africa is set to kick off the nation’s 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign against the Warriors of Zimbabwe in Harare on 3 September before returning home for a challenging encounter against Ghana at the FNB Stadium in Johannesburg three days later.

Newly-appointed head coach Broos has arrived in the country ahead of next month’s crucial qualifiers after being absent from the dugout during the national team’s friendly against Uganda in June and the subsequent COSAFA Cup triumph in Gqeberha.

The 69-year-old addressed the media during a press conference on Thursday afternoon where he announced a 31-man preliminary squad for the two upcoming fixtures, with many from the COSAFA Cup squad rewarded for their success.

Bafana Bafana’s 31-man squad for the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs) & Sifiso Mlungwana (Golden Arrows) 

Defenders: Nyiko Mobbie (Mamelodi Sundowns), Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Haopel Tel Aviv, Israel), Thibang Phete (Belenenses, Portugal), Thabani Dube (Kaizer Chiefs), Njabulo Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs), Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sibusiso Mabiliso (Kaizer Chiefs) & Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates).

Midfielders: Kobamelo Kodisang (FC Braga B, Portugal), Sipho Mbule (Supersport United), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sphelele Mkhulise (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sphephelo Sithole (Belenenses FC, Portugal), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs) Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy), Siyethemba Sithebe (AmaZulu) & Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune United).

Forwards: Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United), Gift Links (Aarhus, Denmark), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Victor Letsoalo (Royal AM), Luther Singh (FC Copenhagen, Denmark) & Percy Tau (Brighton & Hove Albion, England).

The post Broos names Bafana squad for WC qualifiers appeared first on ZBC NEWS.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: