Inaugural cricket NPL awards ceremony held

By ZBC Reporter

TAKASHINGA Cricket Club were duly awarded for their superb performance during the inaugural National Premier League  this Tuesday which saw the country’s top nine clubs battling it out in an entertaining 36-match tournament from the 4th of October  to the 1st of this month.

Takashinga received a 10 000 US dollar prize money for winning the tournament with the club’s all-rounder Roy Kaia grabbing the Player of the Tournament accolade while their mentor Eric Chauluka scooped the inaugural NPL Coach of the Year award for guiding his team to 6 wins out of a possible 8.

MidWest Rhinos settled for silver and walked away 5 000 US Dollars richer while their batsman Tary Musakanda was the top batsman gong for his impressive 307 runs including a century and a half century.

Even-though they finished sixth, Gladiators’ Malcolm Chikuwha snatched the bowler of the tournament accolade and was duly awarded with a shield for his exploits, taking 23 wickets and best of 7 for 16.

Meanwhile, Rainbow Sharks were third with 50 points while Harare Kings were fourth and Easterns ended the campaign on fifth.

Gladiators were sixth with 40 points as Amakhosi settled for 7th position while Queens were 8th with Great Zimbabwe Patriots anchoring the table with a mere 10 points.

The post Inaugural cricket NPL awards ceremony held appeared first on ZBC NEWS.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: